RSS Feed

Sounds of the Season, Part 1

So the Thanksgiving family visit is over. The turkey’s been devoured, the leftovers turned into soup. We’ve survived Black Friday and Cyber Monday.

Now the Christmas season really begins. Bells, tinsel, lights on rain gutters, the Grinch and the jolly old elf are all here for the big day. And of course, so is holiday music.

I’m a big fan of the season in general. And I truly enjoy the music. Somehow it’s doesn’t really feel like Christmas until I hear some favorite classics. Such as the Singing Dogs rendition of Jingle Bells. Or maybe Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer. OK, maybe not that one.

I do have some real favorites. Yes, the dogs really are one of them. As you’ll see by the list below, I tend to favor more contemporary songs for the most part. There’s no real order to the list, and I’m not sure I’d go so far as to call it a “Top 10,”  but it’s not really Christmas to me without these.  Copyright restrictions prevent me from including links,  but none of these are hard to find.

1. Step Into Christmas, Elton John.

A good way to kick off the party, even if most  folks under 40 don’t know what a turntable is.

2. I Believe in Father Christmas, Greg Lake.

A haunting, perhaps a bit cynical , take on the holiday and its commercialization.

3.  Christmas Is The Time To Say I Love You, Billy Squier.

A great idea, and a great singalong favorite.

4.  Please Come Home For Christmas, Eagles.

A classic lover’s lament.

5.  Snoopy’s Christmas, The Royal Guardsmen

Ah, the spirit of the holiday. Almost brings a tear to my eye every time.

6. Ay Ay Ay, It’s Christmas, Ricky Martin

OK, fine, roll your eyes — I do too. But my wife loves this one, so on the list it goes.

7.  Silver Bells, various artists.

This is  the most traditional song you’ll find here. This was my Mom’s favorite Christmas song. Reminds me of her.

8.  Feliz Navidad, Jose Feliciano.

Just a happy little expression of the holidays, in two languages.

9.  The Rebel Jesus, Jackson Browne.

A reflection on the meaning of the season, but hardly in a traditional sense.

10.  Happy Xmas (War Is Over), John Lennon.

A timeless masterpiece.

So that’s my list. How about yours? Share your favorite holiday songs in the comments and I’ll post them for Part 2.  Until then, the dogs are barking and the bells are jingling….

About The Walrus

Welcome. I am the Walrus. As the Lewis Carroll quote implies, I am interested in many things. News, sports, business, cars, planes, boats, pop culture of all sorts, science, technology, literature, music, art, you name it. I’m quite opinionated, and always appreciate other people who are. Let me know what you think.

4 responses »

  1. Here’s my Top Ten, plus two bonus tracks, in order of preferential listening:

    1. Happy Christmas (War Is Over) (John Lennon/Yoko Ono)
    2. Silent Nutcracker (Transiberian Orchestra)
    3. Gloria (Michael W. Smith)
    4. Christmastime Is Here (Vince Guarladi)
    5. Please Come Home for Christmas (Charles Brown)
    6. Merry Christmas Baby (B.B. King)
    7. Louisiana Christmas Day (Aaron Neville)
    8. White Christmas (Otis Redding)
    9. Carol of the Bells (Harry Connick, Jr.)
    10. Christmas Time (Ray Charles)
    * Children Go Where I Send Thee (Grey Gordon)
    * It’s Christmastime, Pretty Baby (Elvis)

    You may have heard some of these performed by other artists, but you must listen to the version I’ve listed here.

    And if you’re in the mood to listen to an entire album you could do a lot worse than listening to Duke Ellington’s Nutcracker Suite. Ain’t nothing else like it!

    Reply
  2. 1.Gloria- Michael W Smith
    2,Breath of Heaven – Amy Grant
    3.Carol of the Bells- TransSiberian Orchestra
    4.Mary, Did you know? Mark Lowrey
    5. I want a hippopotamus for Christmas – Gayla Peevy
    6. Little drummer boy
    7. Go Tell it on the mountain.
    8. We wish you a merry Christmas
    9. Joy to the World
    10. Any instrumental Christmas song played by Kenny G,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

