RSS Feed

Today in History….

Today, ladies and gentlemen, is a truly momentous day in history. A day to be remembered.

Why, I hear you ask?

Because on this date 12 years ago, Microsoft introduced a legendary product. A product that will live on in the annals of history. A product so extraordinary that grown men are humbled by the mere mention of its name.

Yes, folks, on this date in 2000, Microsoft introduced the one, the only (we can hope):

Windows ME.

Quite possibly the worst piece of software,  in my not-so-humble opinion, that the software shamans of Seattle (yes, I do know it’s really Redmond, but we’re all about alliteration here. Work with me.) ever  foisted on an unsuspecting public. How do I know? I made the mistake of buying a computer that came with it installed.

It seemed like a great idea at the time. Buy a new PC through a discount program arranged by  my then-employer. The computer had decent specs, better than the one I had, and of course it came loaded with the latest and greatest home OS Microsoft offered at the time, Windows Millennium Edition.

It proved to be a disaster.  Win ME was the most unstable operating system I’ve ever seen. The dreaded “blue screen of death” became a regular occurrence, as did random total freezes and failures to shut down properly.

And I was far from alone.  One popular computer magazine of the time called it the “Mistake Edition.”  It lasted just over a year in the marketplace before being replaced by the far superior Win XP.  Unfortunately for me,  my machine wouldn’t run XP, so I ended up suffering through another four years or so of ME. When I finally upgraded to an XP machine, it was like moving from an old VW Beetle to a Porsche. The difference was staggering.

The XP machine is getting on in years, and is due for replacement soon.  I managed to miss Vista,  which, from what I’ve read was pretty close to Son-of-ME.  I’ve also missed Win 7, which by most accounts has been a good OS. But the next machine will undoubtedly have Win 8, due for introduction very soon.  I’m afraid to find out if it follows the established pattern of every-other-version:  Win 98 good,  Win ME bad,  XP good, Vista bad, 7 good….

So I’m awaiting my next computer with some trepidation. We’ll see before long what Win 8 brings. Wish me luck.

 

About The Walrus

Welcome. I am the Walrus. As the Lewis Carroll quote implies, I am interested in many things. News, sports, business, cars, planes, boats, pop culture of all sorts, science, technology, literature, music, art, you name it. I’m quite opinionated, and always appreciate other people who are. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

