RSS Feed

TGIF!

TGIF!

Ever said that? Sure, we all have. But what is it that makes us do so?

I genuinely like my job at WalrusEmployer Inc. The atmosphere is congenial, my coworkers are friendly, the coffee’s tolerable and I’d like to think I do my job well.

But by the end of the week, I’m ready for a couple of days away. And on Friday afternoons, that’s an understandable feeling for all of us, I’d say. We all need time to decompress, to break from the 5-day-a-week routine, to relax and enjoy life with our families and friends.

It wasn’t always that way. Until fairly recently in our history, jobs were often six and seven days a week, sometimes 12 hours a day at that. For some folks, it’s still that way.

Don’t believe me? Ask a farmer. Crops and animals don’t take days off.

Even with five-day work weeks, Friday isn’t always the last day of the week. Entire industries have to be served on a 24-hour basis. Health care, information technology, police and fire services don’t get to take the traditional weekend. For those who work such schedules, particularly the night shift, thank you.

But for the majority of us, Friday marks the end of the workweek, and the start of a two-day release from the cares of the office. Use the time well and you’ll accumulate fond memories to carry you through the next week. And if that little home repair project/trip to the amusement park/softball game or other weekend plan doesn’t work out quite the way you expect, look on the bright side: at least you’ll have stories to entertain your coworkers on Monday morning.

TGIF!

About The Walrus

Welcome. I am the Walrus. As the Lewis Carroll quote implies, I am interested in many things. News, sports, business, cars, planes, boats, pop culture of all sorts, science, technology, literature, music, art, you name it. I’m quite opinionated, and always appreciate other people who are. Let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

